Training

Public and Community Psychiatry Fellowships

Public and Community Psychiatry Fellowships provide training in psychiatric leadership, recovery oriented services, advocacy, and program evaluation/services research. An expanding list of programs (now numbering 16) has been created, mostly in the past decade. Providing a combination of didactic and field experiences, these 1-2 year post-residency fellowships represent the gold standard for preparing psychiatrists for leadership roles in organizational settings, whose funding largely derives from public sources. Since, as revealed in a recently published survey of APA members, early and mid-career psychiatrists now spend more time in such publicly-funded organizational settings than in private practice, the value of training dedicated to working in these settings is becoming increasingly clear to psychiatric residents as they become early-career psychiatrists. While most fellows enter these programs immediately following residency, they are equally suitable for early and mid-career psychiatrists.

Following is a list of current public and community psychiatry nyuships:

Alabama

Univ of Alabama School of Med, Tuscaloosa Campus, Public Psychiatry Fellowship
Director: Marisa A. Giggie, MD, MPAff
E-mail address: magiggie@cchs.ua.edu
Website: http://fmr.ua.edu/curriculum/fellowships/


California

UCSD Community Psychiatry Fellowship Program and Community Psychiatry Child and Adolescent Track: San Diego, CA
Director: Steve Koh, MD, MPH, MBA
E-mail address: shkoh@ucsd.edu
Website: http://psychresidency.ucsd.edu/communityfellowship/Pages/default.aspx

UCSF Public Psychiatry Fellowship at SFGH, San Francisco, CA
Director: Christina Mangurian, MD
E-mail address: christina.mangurian@ucsf.edu
Website address: http://ppf.ucsf.edu/


Connecticut

Yale Fellowship in Public Psychiatry: New Haven, CT
Director: Jeanne Steiner, DO
E-mail address: Jeanne.steiner@yale.edu
Website: www.medicine.yale.edu/psychiatry/education/clinfell/public.aspx


Florida

University of Florida Community Psychiatry Fellowship: Vero Beach, FL
Directors: Wayne Creelman, MD
E-mail address: creelman@ufl.edu; rchris@ufl.edu


Massachusetts

Kraft Family National Center for Leadership and Training in Community Health
Director: Derri Shtasel, MD, MPH E-mail address:dshtasel@partners.org
Website: http://www.kraftcommunityhealth.org/

Massachusetts General Hospital Fellowship in Public and Community Psychiatry
Director: Oliver Freudenreich MD
E-mail address: Freudenreich.Oliver@mgh.harvard.edu
Website: http://mghmcleanpsychiatry.partners.org/program/public-and-community-psychiatry/


New York

Columbia University Public Psychiatry Fellowship: New York, NY
Director: Jules Ranz, MD
E-mail address: jmr1@columbia.edu
Website: ppf.hs.columbia.edu

NUMC Public Psychiatry Fellowship East Meadow, NY
Director: Rajvee Vora, MD, MS
E-mail address: rvora@numc.edu

NYU/Bellevue Public Psychiatry Fellowship: New York, NY
Director: Manuel Trujillo, MD
E-mail address: manuel.trujillo@nyumc.org
Website: http://psych.med.nyu.edu/education/fellowshiptraining/public-psychiatry Fellowship Training


North Carolina

UNC - Chapel Hill Department of Psychiatry and Center for Excellence in Community Psychiatry Fellowship in Community Psychiatry: Chapel Hill, NC
Director: Brian Sheitman, MD
E-mail address: Brian_Sheitman@med.unc.edu


Ohio

Case Western Reserve University, Public and Community Psychiatry Fellowship; Cleveland, OH
Director: Patrick Runnels, MD Assoc Directors: Rosa Ruggiero, CNP; Farah Munir, DO
E-mail address: patrick.runnels@uhhospitals.org
Website: http://www.cwrupsychiatry.org/training/fellowships/public-and-community-psychiatry

Northeast Ohio Medical University (NEOMED) Departments of Psychiatry and Family and Community Medicine Fellowship in Integrated Community Psychiatry and Primary Care
Director: Douglas Smith, MD, DFAPA
E-mail address: IntegratedCareFellowship@neomed.edu
Website: http://www.neomed.edu/academics/bestcenter/integrated-care-fellowship-recruitment-material.pdf


Pennsylvania

Rural Psychiatry Fellowship, Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic
Director: Penny Chapman; Co-director: Manish Sapra
E-mail address: pennydailey@gmail.com sapram@upmc.edu
Website: http://www.pprp.pitt.edu/

University of Pennsylvania Fellowship in Public Psychiatry; Center of Excellence and Innovation in Public Psychiatry: Philadelphia, PA
Directors: Trevor Hadley PhD and Larry Real MD
E-mail address: thadley@mail.med.upenn.edu larry.real@hhinc.org;
Website: http://www.med.upenn.edu/cmhpsr/fellowship.html#public

Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic Center for Public Service Psychiatry Fellowship Program: Pittsburgh, PA
Director: Wesley Sowers, MD; Co-director: Robert Marin
E-mail address: sowerswe@upmc.edu marinr@upmc.edu
Website: www.wpic.pitt.edu/education/CPSP


Texas

UT Southwestern Community Behavioral Health Track, Dallas, TX
Director: John Burruss, MD
E-mail address: john.burruss@metrocareservices.org


This page was updated on March 3, 2015