Training

Public and Community Psychiatry Fellowships

Public and Community Psychiatry Fellowships provide training in psychiatric leadership, recovery oriented services, advocacy, and program evaluation/services research. An expanding list of programs (now numbering 15) has been created, mostly in the past few years. Providing a combination of didactic and field experiences, these 1-2 year post-residency fellowships represent the gold standard for preparing psychiatrists for leadership roles in organizational settings, whose funding largely derives from public sources. Since, as revealed in a recently published survey of APA members, early and mid-career psychiatrists now spend more time in such publicly-funded organizational settings than in private practice, the value of training dedicated to working in these settings is becoming increasingly clear to psychiatric residents as they become early-career psychiatrists. While most fellows enter these programs immediately following residency, they are equally suitable for early and mid-career psychiatrists. Following is a list of current public and community psychiatry fellowships:

Alabama

Univ of Alabama School of Med, Tuscaloosa Campus, Public Psychiatry Fellowship
Director: Marisa A. Giggie, MD, MPAff
E-mail address: magiggie@cchs.ua.edu

California

San Diego County Community Psychiatry Fellowship: San Diego, CA
Interim Director: Marshall Lewis, MD
E-mail address: marshall.lewis@sdcounty.ca.gov

UCSF/SFGH Public Psychiatry Fellowship, San Francisco, CA
Director: Christina Mangurian, MD
E-mail address: christina.mangurian@ucsf.edu

Connecticut

Yale Fellowship in Public Psychiatry: New Haven, CT
Director: Jeanne Steiner, DO
E-mail address: Jeanne.steiner@yale.edu
Website: www.medicine.yale.edu/psychiatry/education/clinfell/public.aspx

Florida

University of Florida Fellowship in Public Psychiatry: Orlando, FL
Directors: Richard Christensen, MD and Wayne Creelman, MD
E-mail address: creelman@ufl.edu; rchris@ufl.edu

New York

Columbia University Public Psychiatry Fellowship: New York, NY
Director: Jules Ranz, MD
E-mail address: jmr1@columbia.edu
Website: ppf.hs.columbia.edu

NYU/Bellevue Public Psychiatry Fellowship: New York, NY
Director: Manuel Trujillo, MD
E-mail address: manuel.trujillo@nyumc.org

NUMC Public Psychiatry Fellowship East Meadow, NY
Director: Rajvee Vora, MD, MS
E-mail address: rvora@numc.edu

North Carolina

UNC - Chapel Hill Department of Psychiatry and Center for Excellence in Community Psychiatry Fellowship in Community Psychiatry: Chapel Hill, NC
Director: Brian Sheitman, MD
E-mail address: Brian_Sheitman@med.unc.edu

Ohio

Case Western Reserve University, Public and Community Psychiatry Fellowship; Cleveland, OH
Director: Patrick Runnels, MD
E-mail address: patrick.runnels@uhhospitals.org
Website: http://www.cwrupsychiatry.org/training/fellowships/public-and-community-psychiatry

Pennsylvania

Erie Community Psychiatry Fellowship: Erie, PA
Director: Penny Chapman
E-mail address: pennydailey@gmail.com

University of Pennsylvania Fellowship in Public Psychiatry; Center of Excellence and Innovation in Public Psychiatry: Philadelphia, PA
Directors: Trevor Hadley PhD and Larry Real MD
E-mail address: thadley@mail.med.upenn.edu; larry.real@hhinc.org

Western Psychiatric Institute and Clinic Center for Public Service Psychiatry Fellowship Program: Pittsburgh, PA
Director: Wesley Sowers, MD
E-mail address: sowerswe@upmc.edu
Website: www.wpic.pitt.edu/education/CPSP

Texas

UTSW/Metrocare Public and Community Psychiatry Fellowship Program: Dallas, TX
Director: John Burruss, MD
E-mail address: john.burruss@metrocareservices.org